in over my head

More
15 Jul 2013 14:59 #596626 by dan123
in over my head was created by dan123
a few weeks ago on my day off i took apart the front end of my bike in a hurry in order to change out the steering stem. i had to take off the headlight housing and disconnect all of the wiring connections that are back there. naturally i was not paying much close attention to how it all came together. now its a few weeks later and i am feeling very overwhelmed. i have the proper Kawasaki service manual and i followed the wiring diagram as best i could but when i turned the key none of the lights came on. i have no experience working with wiring and i dont know how to diagnose the problem. any advice to how i should go about getting the wiring done properly would be greatly appreciated.

1982 kz550C LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jul 2013 15:10 #596627 by Cynjut
Replied by Cynjut on topic in over my head
Step 1 - go to Radio Shack and buy the cheapest volt meter you can get.

Step 2 - Have the guy behind the counter show you how to do simple stuff like check for continuity and voltage.

Step 3 - Go back and start checking things.

Electricity is like the Ernie's Magic Bathtub game. Put electricity on a wire, and there's electricity on everything it's connected to. It fills the pipe at the speed of light, so just following the wires and use your diagram. Find out what has power in the headstock wiring and what doesn't. Take notes. Pretty soon, with the help of the book and secure in the understanding that the Brown wire is usually the main bike power and that black/yellow is ground, you start to see the pattern between what you see on the diagram and what you see in your hand.

You can do it: we all have the utmost confidence in you.

Other than "take it to a dealer" there isn't really anyone here can do for you.

1977 KZ-1000 A1
1982 KZ-1000 M2 Frankenbike

• slayer61
  • User
  • KZR FLAG RELAY CARRIER #62
More