Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC:

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 21:08 #523633

  • mtkawboy
  • mtkawboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 823
  • Thank you received: 16
Ive got an 80 KZ1000 with factory electronic ignition. Is there any way to replace the plug wires in the factory coils. I really cant afford a set of Dyna coils right now, Ive spent a ton on this thing ?
78-KZ1000/1105, 80 KZ1000, 82 Kawasaki GPZ750, 95 Harley Fatboy, 80 Suzuki GS1100ET, 81 GS1100E parts bike, 83 GS1100SD Katana/1394,78 Yamaha XT500, 81 Yamaha XS650, 78 Yamaha XS650E, 48 Whizzer model J motorbike, 71 Honda CT70H, 71 Honda CT70, 81 IT 250 Yamaha,82 Honda XL100S owned

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 21:31 #523637

  • MFolks
  • MFolks's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 6650
  • Thank you received: 538
Look carefully at the ignition coil, does it have ridges on the caps where the sparkplug wires go? If so, the caps will unscrew making removal of the plug wires easy. To make installation easier, use rubbing Alcohol as a lubricant for the rubber pieces inside the caps.

7mm sparkplug wires will go right in the coils. If the sparkplug wires are molded into the coils(some are), the only way to replace the plug wire will be to go to www.z1enterprises.com and buy 4 of the NGK sparkplug wire "Splices".
1982 GPZ1100 B2
General Dynamics/Convair 1983-1993
GLCM BGM-109 Tomahawk, AGM-129A Advanced Cruise Missile (ACM)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 22:00 #523646

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • KZr Legend
  • KZr Legend
  • Posts: 18932
  • Thank you received: 2144
NGK Plug Wire Splicer
TU38-1024
Used for splicing new wires on old coils. Joins two sections of plug wire together.
$5.57

Click here > www.z1enterprises.com/detail.aspx?ID=1890




Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 22:02 #523650

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • KZr Legend
  • KZr Legend
  • Posts: 18932
  • Thank you received: 2144

mtkawboy wrote: Ive got an 80 KZ1000 with factory electronic ignition. Is there any way to replace the plug wires in the factory coils. I really cant afford a set of Dyna coils right now, Ive spent a ton on this thing ?


:unsure: Is it for certain that the existing spark plug wires are bad and that the existing coils are good?

Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 22:34 #523667

  • mtkawboy
  • mtkawboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 823
  • Thank you received: 16
Yes, the bike ran fine but the wire going into plug ends broke off on 2 of them {#1 & #4}and they arent long enough to put new ones on, probably from POs pulling the wires off the plugs. Where the wire goes into the coils it has boots on it. I havent tried getting the wire out because all the older KZs & Z1s Ive owned had the wires glued into the coils. I was never able to get the wire out of them. Ill take the coils off the bike and see if I have any luck getting them out. Thanks to everyone for all the help over the years, I dont know what Id do without all you guys. I had never heard of those wire splices before
78-KZ1000/1105, 80 KZ1000, 82 Kawasaki GPZ750, 95 Harley Fatboy, 80 Suzuki GS1100ET, 81 GS1100E parts bike, 83 GS1100SD Katana/1394,78 Yamaha XT500, 81 Yamaha XS650, 78 Yamaha XS650E, 48 Whizzer model J motorbike, 71 Honda CT70H, 71 Honda CT70, 81 IT 250 Yamaha,82 Honda XL100S owned

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 20 May 2012 22:50 #523676

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • KZr Legend
  • KZr Legend
  • Posts: 18932
  • Thank you received: 2144

mtkawboy wrote: ...Where the wire goes into the coils it has boots on it....


Am pretty sure the stock coils have the plug wires permanently attached.

The rubber boot is likely just a protective cover.

If fitting the splicers, be sure to leave ample stub lengths from the coil to accommodate both the splicer and the boot.

Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 21 May 2012 01:58 #523752

  • bountyhunter
  • bountyhunter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 7249
  • Thank you received: 336

mtkawboy wrote: Ive got an 80 KZ1000 with factory electronic ignition. Is there any way to replace the plug wires in the factory coils. I really cant afford a set of Dyna coils right now, Ive spent a ton on this thing ?

I have seen kits with the wires and splicers I think they are like $40 - $50. If those are original coils I would not spend money on them, I would punt them into the can.
1979 KZ-750 Twin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 23 May 2012 00:58 #524186

  • badrhino
  • badrhino's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 554
  • Thank you received: 6
I agree with bounty hunter. I went the new wire and splicer route and spent prob. $50+ dollars and am having problems with them. That suppression core wire sucks IMHO.
1980 KZ1000 with a 1982 KZ1000J motor with 1100 pistons and heads, Vance & Hines, 29MM Smooth Bores, Work in Progress
Franken Z!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 23 May 2012 01:22 #524194

  • wireman
  • wireman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • The most interesting prick in the world
  • Posts: 4793
  • Thank you received: 304
try grinding out the glue/epoxy holding wires into coils B)
posting from deep under a non-descript barn in an undisclosed location southwest of Omaha.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 23 May 2012 14:59 #524276

  • mtkawboy
  • mtkawboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 823
  • Thank you received: 16
After ordering the new coils & wires I actually did get one wire out. I twisted and pulled for 10 minutes before the wire came out. I dont see how yould ever get a new one back in though as tight a fit as it is. You couldnt even get the old wire to go back in. I was surprised to see copper core wire instead of supression wire on an electronic ignition motor. I had already ordered the supression wire for the new grey Dyna coils.
78-KZ1000/1105, 80 KZ1000, 82 Kawasaki GPZ750, 95 Harley Fatboy, 80 Suzuki GS1100ET, 81 GS1100E parts bike, 83 GS1100SD Katana/1394,78 Yamaha XT500, 81 Yamaha XS650, 78 Yamaha XS650E, 48 Whizzer model J motorbike, 71 Honda CT70H, 71 Honda CT70, 81 IT 250 Yamaha,82 Honda XL100S owned

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 23 May 2012 17:16 #524301

  • Patton
  • Patton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • KZr Legend
  • KZr Legend
  • Posts: 18932
  • Thank you received: 2144

mtkawboy wrote: ...copper core wire instead of supression wire on an electronic ignition ....


Non-resistant copper core plug wire, and non-resistor spark plugs, would be okay to run with non-resistor plug caps, but Moma Kaw fitted resistor caps to reduce electrical interference in such things as radio reception and sensitive electronic components.
Instead of resistor plug caps, resistor plug wires or resistor spark plugs could have been fitted.
Was a good choice, imo, because the solid core plug wires are more durable, and the R plugs are sometimes more difficult to find (but usually the same price), and the resistor plug caps are very durable and long-lasting.

If using the Dyna suppression plug wires, would retain and use their integrated caps. And don't replace the Dyna caps with the stock resistor caps.
The stock resistor caps may be put on the shelf until perhaps fitted to solid core (non-suppression/non-resistor) spark plug wires.

Good Fortune! :)
1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Patton.

Any way to replace plug wires in a factory coil ? 24 May 2012 14:27 #524544

  • mtkawboy
  • mtkawboy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Member
  • Member
  • Posts: 823
  • Thank you received: 16
I bought the Dyna grey coils and the plug wires fron Z1E after talking to the tech guy there so it should be OK. I had forgotten that the original plug ends were resistor type so thats why they used the copper core plug wires
78-KZ1000/1105, 80 KZ1000, 82 Kawasaki GPZ750, 95 Harley Fatboy, 80 Suzuki GS1100ET, 81 GS1100E parts bike, 83 GS1100SD Katana/1394,78 Yamaha XT500, 81 Yamaha XS650, 78 Yamaha XS650E, 48 Whizzer model J motorbike, 71 Honda CT70H, 71 Honda CT70, 81 IT 250 Yamaha,82 Honda XL100S owned

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Powered by Kunena Forum