New rider, first bike...couple questions

More
02 Oct 2009 10:28 #325058 by tenyart
Hey all...I posted earlier in the new rider forum, but figured I'd post here to get a quicker answer on the technical questions. I just bought my first bike...a '78 KZ650B. It runs pretty well, so far. but it needs a few minor things that I hope to work on over the winter to have it ready to rock in the spring. What I've noticed that is needs so far:
1. the speedometer/Tach are not working, and only 1 indicator light works (braking light). Not sure if I need a whole new assembly or if anyone has any tips?
2. new seat lock; the current one has a key broken off in it.
3. has an aftermarket horn, but not hooked up
4. I have the turn signals, but they are not hooked up
5. has just a bar end mirror on the left side...as a newbie, I will feel more comfortable getting stock or better mirrors on there.
6. needs a chain guard
7. I will change the oil over the winter too.
8. new starter. it will occasionally kick over with the start button, but usually just seems to skip and wind out. But will start on first or second kick everytime.

any suggestions / tips you can provide is greatly appreciated. here's a pic as well.

T

'78 KZ650B
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Oct 2009 10:46 #325061 by YUKABODOS
Replied by YUKABODOS on topic New rider, first bike...couple questions
1. Spedo and tach may only need new cables, order direct from Z1enterprises, easy fix.
2. Seat lock - I would take the bike to a locksmith to see if he can get it out for you. Then you do not require a new seat lock. Cheap fix. Others can be found for cheap on ebay.
3.Horn, simple fix. Just need to get power to it from the harness and ground it so it will work.
4. Turn signals are an easy fix, but will take a little effort. Mount them in the propper locations , need a power feed and a ground to operate.