• Page:

TOPIC:

shift light idea, can it b done? 06 Mar 2006 17:10 #28799

• wiccadogg
  • wiccadogg's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello all!
i was lookin at my gauges and it got me thinkin, why the headlight gauge light? i would think i would figure out if my headlight went out.
so heres my idea- why couldnt the head light gauge light become a shift light. not that i dont know when to shift but i think it would be a cool mod on my already severely modded bike. ( electrical is still stock )
my questions to my fellow kzrs is this- can it be done and how? i have very little experience with electrial so i would need some directions. or is this a bad idea?
any thoughts\ideas?
thanks in advance
-seth
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

shift light idea, can it b done? 06 Mar 2006 17:26 #28801

• wireman
  • Visitor
thats a pretty small target to aim for when youre ripping down the road they make regular shift lights that are a lot easier to see,check APE website on links.i used to turn my car tachs sideways so shift point was straight up and down but that would be hard to do with stock gauge.;) goodluck,happy wrenching!

shift light idea, can it b done? 06 Mar 2006 17:31 #28804

• Nevco48
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
If you are taking a poll, I would have to vote No. My kid has a crappy '88 Cavalier with a shift light on the dash that bugs the crap out of him. My feeling is that if you can't hear or feel when it is time to shift, you need an automatic. (Honda made an automatic transmission, didn't they?)
Technically speaking, I'm not sure how you could mod in a sensor. I'm thinking you would need input from both the tach and speedo. Sounds like a PITA, why don't you find a cure for AIDS or something?:whistle:

shift light idea, can it b done? 06 Mar 2006 18:31 #28833

• wiccadogg
  • User
Nevco48, after giving it some thought, i think a shift light would bug the hell outta me too.