Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ 250 carb question 21 Jul 2006 13:13 #63714

• alteran
  • alteran's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
I have a 1980 kz250 that has only 3500 miles on it. It has sat idle a lot of its life.
It runs well but I need to run it on almost full choke for several miles before I can take it off. Then it still doesn't seem to get enough gas at full throtle.
I'm assuming that it may have some crud in the carb.
I'm an experinced mechanic but have never had this carb or one like it apart.
If I take it apart to clean it will the passages to clean be apparent or are there hidden ones I might not see.
Any other good advice for me on solvong this problem?

Thanks, Al.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KZ 250 carb question 21 Jul 2006 16:48 #63759

• btchalice
  • User
  • Thank you received: 7
just thoroughly clean every hole you can find and if it has a vacuum slide(dont know the 250) look for pinholes
Terry Meyer / Wichita KS
76 kz900 w/1000 motor TWZTD
I am not driving too fast, I'm flying too low.

KZ 250 carb question 21 Jul 2006 16:56 #63761

• JR
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 434