3d Printed Float Bowl Gaskets

More
08 Apr 2023 20:05 #882751 by davidthejr
3d Printed Float Bowl Gaskets was created by davidthejr
Good evening all!

Wanted to stop in and give some info on something I've been working on. I have a 1982 kz550 ltd, and I was working on the carbs and noticed some of the float bowl gaskets needed to be replaced.  The only replacements I could find were either a full rebuild kit, or $18 or so per gasket.  Not feeling like spending that much on gaskets, I decided to spend almost that much on TPU filament for my 3d printer that is fuel resistant and hopefully would withstand the heat and compression of the carb.  This was about seven months ago, and i have been running gaskets made with this filament on two of my carbs since then.  Just this week I swapped the other two so all four carbs are now running with these TPU gaskets.  Also I printed a gasket for my fuel cap that i have been running for the last seven months as well. 

Anyway I figured I would share my experience and see if anyone else has done something similar!  I am also attaching some photos of the prints.  If you have any questions just let me know!

Here is a video of the material:
photos.app.goo.gl/scrQZXSRWqT6siWG8

Old vs New:

Attachment not found

Fit on the carb bowl:

Attachment not found

Installed on the carb:

Attachment not found

The following user(s) said Thank You: Wookie58

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Apr 2023 20:16 #883506 by davidthejr
Replied by davidthejr on topic 3d Printed Float Bowl Gaskets
Not sure why the photos arnt showing up, but here are new links to them:

Old vs New:

Installed on the carb:

Fit on the carb bowl:
The following user(s) said Thank You: TexasKZ, Moose1800

• hardrockminer
  • Sustaining Member
More
21 Apr 2023 05:29 #883522 by hardrockminer
Replied by hardrockminer on topic 3d Printed Float Bowl Gaskets