Red Hot Pipes and Carbs - Push Pull Cables

More
02 Sep 2022 13:46 #873248 by ShaneDude
77 KZ750 B twin:

Had the carbs rebuilt. Reputable person/friend.

I put the carbs on, started the bike and  it RACED like CRAZY, up to 6k rpms. So I turned the idle down and nothing. Then the pipes got RED HOT so i had to turn it off. I dont think this is related to the push pull mechanism (could it be set wrong?) but something isnt right. Its my first time putting carbs on and Im pretty sure I did everything right. Could I have misadjusted the push/pull cables or do you think something in the carbs isnt right.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Sep 2022 14:57 #873251 by mopguy
Replied by mopguy on topic Red Hot Pipes and Carbs - Push Pull Cables
You more than likely have air leaks at the carburetor boots. Replacing the boots should fix the problem.

I have a 1980 Kawasaki KZ750 Ltd. I bought new. I recently managed to get it out of my garage after 28 years and put it on the road again (2010). I feel like a kid all over again. Since I have acquired 3 78 KZ1000 Ltd, 1 1981 KZ1000 Ltd, and another 1980 KZ750 Ltd. Love the LTD's.

More
02 Sep 2022 15:00 #873252 by ShaneDude
Replied by ShaneDude on topic Red Hot Pipes and Carbs - Push Pull Cables
One of the boots, on the airbox side, had a big tear. I was told I could use crazy glue to repair it and did that. Maybe thats it?  Ive been reading a lot and have seen that throttle cable linkage could also be an issue, but when I roll the throttle at the handlebar it seems fine. When its idling high and i roll the throttle, it RPMS do go up higher, but only go back down to 5k. ive never seen my pipes get red hot so fast, but it happened today.

More
02 Sep 2022 15:25 - 02 Sep 2022 15:26 #873254 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic Red Hot Pipes and Carbs - Push Pull Cables