Float height adjustment

More
14 Mar 2021 17:43 #844924 by Ricco86
Float height adjustment was created by Ricco86
1982 kz 750E
Hi all, I have no experience with carb work. I put New float needles on all my carbs and before I reinstall the unit I would like to bench my carbs to do the float/ fuel level adjustment. I’m gonna do the clear tube and base on other forums the level should be about 4mm below bowl/gasket. What’s the correct way to do the adjustment? Having the carbs level all the way or will I be leveling the carbs and having them pitch slightly as they were if installed? In case I sound confusing the engine intake isn’t a perfect 90 degree so will I need to take this in consideration? After installed I’m also doing a gauge vacuum test to synchronize them. Thanks

Ricco

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Mar 2021 20:12 #844933 by Mikaw
Replied by Mikaw on topic Float height adjustment
First question but might be to late. Why did you change out the float needle and seats? Did you use OEM parts? Did you match the size of the old?

To set the float I have the carbs level and plumb on the bench. One important thing is to have your fuel supply at the same height distance from the carbs on the bench as it would be when mounted on the bike. There is a post here that shown using a clear glass bowl. It’s a awesome way to set floats but takes a lot of set up. Going the traditional way is to fill the bowl, clear tube the height, drain bowl, bend tang, fill bowl and recheck float height. No shortcuts. Be careful with gas and fumes.

1976 KZ 900 A4 kzrider.com/forum/11-projects/613548-1976-kz-900-a4
1976 KZ 900 B1 LTD
1978 KZ 1000 B2 LTD
1980 KZ 750 E1
Kowledge Speaks, But Wisdom Listens.
Jimi Hendrix.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ricco86

More
14 Mar 2021 20:35 #844935 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic Float height adjustment
Level is fine. Installed on the bike is ideal.