• Page:

TOPIC:

VM Carb Rack Lubrication 03 Oct 2020 21:09 #836117

• DOHC
  • DOHC's Avatar Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • Those Doe-Hawks really go!
  • Thank you received: 503
I recently decided to do a full rebuild of the carbs on my Z1R (Mikuni VM28SS x4). I've done basic cleanings before, spraying carb cleaner in the passages and replacing worn needles, but this is my first time taking them all the way down to pieces.

I noticed that there are several places that obviously should have some lubricant, and a few places that seem like they might like some. The factory service manual only mentions putting grease on the main throttle shaft.

So two questions for you folks: What, if any, parts should be lubricated. And what's the right product?

The throttle shaft has bronze bushings in the rack, and a narrow spot on the shaft which I'm assuming is intended to hold grease. There are also the ball ends on the slide-to-throttle-shaft links.

But how about the choke plungers? How about the throttle slides themselves? Those are both metal on metal. Should I put them together dry?

I poked through my shelf full of greases. I have a least three different wheel bearing greases, four different brake greases, and SIL-Glyde and Lucas while lithium and Super Lube (regular, not silicone). And for light oil I have 3-in-One and Hoppe's #9 gun oil. And then the spray cans... And on and on.

So I had this in mind:

For the throttle shaft and slide linkage, I thought I'd use CRC Brake Grease ("for all metal-to-metal contact, with moly, PFTF, & graphite, plastic & rubber safe")

The choke plunger shaft seems to drag in the metal cap, so maybe a tiny amount of SIL-Glyde under the rubber top cap? (silicone-based, compatible with plastic and rubber (EPDM & Nitrile))