• Page:

TOPIC:

1980 KZ750 LTD H - correct carb fuel hose connection 18 Aug 2020 12:45 #833150

• AnnihilAnt
  • AnnihilAnt's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi All,
I'm a noob to the forum and to motorcycles in general, but very mechanically inclined. I recently took the MSF course, and should get my license when the DMV isn't so screwed up. I acquired a 1980 KZ 750 LTD with the carb and gas tank off. It has sat in a garage for years, but doesn't seem too worse for wear. Two questions:
1. Can someone give me pointers to keep in mind when starting a bike that has sat for a while.
2. Can someone give me detailed instructions on where the carb hoses go. I know there should be 4 overflow tubes coming from the bottom and going into the bottom of the air box. Really need help with the other connections. Had a hard time finding it online for this specific bike.

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

I attached some images to hopefully make it easier.
Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1980 KZ750 LTD H - correct carb fuel hose connection 18 Aug 2020 15:04 #833156

• undiablo
  • User
  • Thank you received: 64
Hope this helps.
Credit to WiredGeorge.
Kawasaki KZ 750/4 LTD 1981
Kawasaki KLR 650 2011
Argentina - Buenos Aires
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: AnnihilAnt

1980 KZ750 LTD H - correct carb fuel hose connection 18 Aug 2020 17:31 #833165

• Nessism
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 2671
First thing, I'd pull those carbs and break them down. Soak all the hard parts in carb dip and replace all the O-rings. Search the archives for info on all the various O-ring sizes. Don't waste your money on "carb kits" because they are typically full of inferior aftermarket parts. If you need float needles search out some Kester parts or spring the big dollars for OEM.