KZ750F Carb Kits

More
24 Apr 2020 16:22 #824177 by hawken
KZ750F Carb Kits was created by hawken
I'm new to motorcycles. I bought an '83 KZ750F Shaft in decent shape at a good price, and I'm in the middle of getting it cleaned up. It runs, but I'd like to rebuild the carbs. Something that's been confusing so far are all the various sub-models and the apparent incompatibility with my bike. For example, I can find rebuild kits that work for the KZ750H, KZ750N Spectre, KZ750L, etc., but it's been tough to find one for the F.

I'm not familiar with the differences in the sub-models to gamble on a kit that isn't specifically for my bike. I'm not entirely certain what kind of carbs I have, either, except they're clearly Keihin. I'd appreciate some advice!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Apr 2020 11:53 #824332 by hawken
Replied by hawken on topic KZ750F Carb Kits
Here are some pictures. Sorry if this is a double posting--I was getting database errors when I initially tried to submit this.

Attachments:

• Nessism
  • Away
  • Sustaining Member
More
26 Apr 2020 13:17 - 26 Apr 2020 13:18 #824340 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic KZ750F Carb Kits
I've rebuilt about a dozen sets of those carbs and recommend staying away from "carb kits". What you need is new O-rings and maybe float needles (get Keyster or OEM Kawasaki only.) Here are the sizes you need. I've got at least some of them if you can't find what you need at Z1 Enterprises and or OEM sources like Partzilla. Reason to stay with your stock brass parts is because they are high quality originals and most of the aftermarket carb kits are full of inferior parts.

Pilot Screw: 1.2 x 2.6
Pilot Plug: 1.5 x 2.8
Fuel Transfer Tubes: 2.0 x 5.5
Drain Screws: 1.4 x 4.0
Float Bowl: 2.0 x 67

Oh, and to properly clean the carbs they must be unganged. Lots of people are afraid of the complexity or the time involved but it's the only way to properly bring the carbs up to proper condition.