Carb 2 Questiom

• Kiddynamite8
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
21 Sep 2019 20:18 #811160 by Kiddynamite8
Carb 2 Questiom was created by Kiddynamite8
Hi everyone, just picked up a 1978 kz650 and have a question. On the bottom of carb 2 there are 2 nipples. The one to the right is draining down a hose. The one to the left is open. Should it be capped? I'm a total noob and appreciate any help. I attached a pic showing the bottom of the carb. Thanks.

1978 KZ650
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Sep 2019 05:19 - 23 Sep 2019 05:29 #811188 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic Carb 2 Questiom
Howdy. Your motorcycle has VM24 carburetors w accelerator pump. One of the ports is for draining the carburetors & checking the service fuel level & the drain screw should stop the flow when seated. The other port is the overflow in case the fuel level in the #2 carburetor is too high for whatever reason.

The accelerator pump is a mechanical device that adds a squirt of fuel to each carburetor when you twist the throttle, such as during heavy acceleration. It was added to compensate for a lean condition because of EPA regulations. Each carburetor body has a pump nozzle that projects into the carb bore. You can test the pump by supplying fuel to the carbs, then twisting the throttle >> fuel should squirt out of the nozzles & thru the carb bore without hitting the carburetor walls.

ps: in your pic the pump rod is bent.
Last edit: 23 Sep 2019 05:29 by martin_csr.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kiddynamite8

More
23 Sep 2019 07:28 #811199 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Carb 2 Questiom
Some people eliminate the accelerator pump system and just re-jet a little richer (maybe a needle adjustment?).
You might have to google to get details or maybe someone here will chime in, who has done it.

• Kiddynamite8
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
23 Sep 2019 08:09 #811200 by Kiddynamite8