1981 KZ440 Carbs

More
26 Mar 2019 12:59 #801080 by boondan
1981 KZ440 Carbs was created by boondan
Hey everyone, I've had a KZ440 sitting in my garage for awhile that I've finally gotten around to working on and cleaned up. I've now gotten to the carbs and I just have a few questions. I'm fairly new to working on motorcycles so go a little easy on me. What I've done so far is replace the plugs and an oil change/filter as well as a brand new battery. Pretty much the bike starts up on a dime but it does idle rough and when you blip the throttle at idle it really hesitates to get up into higher rpm's and starts bogging down and will eventually stall out, to my knowledge this seems like an issue with the pilot jet. I've taken the carbs out and inspected them as well as cleaned the pilot/main jets and soaked all of the parts of my carbs in carb cleaner. But when I put them back together the bike still runs very rough. I did order 2 carb rebuild kits because she didn't like being taken apart with those ancient gaskets so I will have to replace them because there is gas leaking out of the carbs. Also my entire bike is currently stock. When I take apart my carbs to adjust my pilot jet and main jet what are the stock factory recommended setting for them i.e how many turns? I attempted to search through other forums but didn't have any luck with it so I'm coming here to look for an answer so any help would be appreciated. Also if anyone has any other reccomendations to get the bike running properly I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks
-B

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Mar 2019 15:51 #801087 by Nerdy
Replied by Nerdy on topic 1981 KZ440 Carbs
Welcome aboard!

A recommendation: go to the front page of KZRider.com and download the appropriate manual for your bike.

Jets can be finicky things. You'll want to poke through each one with a bristle from a nylon (not metal!) brush just to be absolutely sure they're clear.

Good luck!