Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Carb Identification 23 Sep 2017 16:04 #771535

• Fah_kingeye
  • Fah_kingeye's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello Everyone! Complete and total Noob here when it comes to motorcycles, but im an overall tool/work friendly guy picked up my first two and a half project bikes 77' kz650 and an 81' kz650! I'm starting with the 81 as it is mostly completely built already just need carbs reworked and a battery (hopefully :P ) I'm having trouble figuring out what carbs I have though (possibly mixed years?) as well as what parts kit to order for the rebuild. So... Here are some pics let me know if anything else will help in identifying and I'll see what I can do.

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Carb Identification 23 Sep 2017 16:56 #771539

• 650ed
  • User
  • Thank you received: 2828
The carbs in your top picture are Mikuni VM24SS carbs with the accelerator pump. They would be correct for the 1981 KZ650. The carbs on 1977 KZ650 models did not come with the accelerator pump. As far as ordering kits to “rebuild” the carbs – I wouldn’t do it. In addition to gaskets the kits generally include metal parts which are not as precise as the original parts. Also, unless someone has done something with a hammer or chisel the Mikuni VM24SS carb metal parts do not normally wear. I speak from personal experience – I’ve owned my 1977 KZ650 since it was new (40+years) and the only things I’ve ever replaced on the carbs are the bowl gaskets. I suggest you simply clean the carbs and replace any gaskets that are damaged. You might need to replace some of the rubber pieces, but I have never needed to do that.