Maintenace to do with a 78' kz650 (sat 2 year)

More
22 May 2017 10:03 #762481 by insutama
I have a 1978 kz 650 i havent rode it in 2 years now it ran fine 2 years ago no problems at the end of the season i changed the oil and oil filter and maybe rode it 5 times for a total of 3 hrs on that new oil and filter. I also put fuel stabalizer in the fuel tank it then sat in my heated garage for 2 years collecting dust so today i was planning on taking it out of the garage giving it a good wash seeing if it will fire up and doing a oil change here are my questions.
1 - should i drain the fuel and put new fuel in ? it has sat for 18 months with a good amount of fuel stabalizer in it.
2 - I know i need to do a oil change because of the length of time it sat but would i still need to change the oil filter would it have possible decayed or rotted over the 18 months of just sitting there.
3 - Anything else i should check on my bike

Please note i am very new to owning a bike and routine Maintenace for these bikes so any advice to keep my bike in good running order would greatly be appreciated thanks

1978 kz650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 May 2017 12:59 #762491 by insutama
Replied by insutama on topic Maintenace to do with a 78' kz650 (sat 2 year)
Update:

So i decided to drain my gas tank and carbs i got all but one carb drained the last drain screw on the carb was impossible to loosen anyway im glad i drained it because the gas had a apple juice colour to it.

Question: When should i check my tire pressure when its on kickstand or bike stand also what kinda pressure should i be pumping my tires up to, thanks

1978 kz650

More
22 May 2017 13:10 #762493 by 650ed
Check your tire pressure with the bike on the tires or on the stand - it doesn't matter.