Oil/Gas Mixture on Side of Carb?

More
22 Oct 2015 06:13 #695467 by mgutjr
Oil/Gas Mixture on Side of Carb? was created by mgutjr
Hey y'all, I'm fairly new to the KZ 650 crew and love my bike. I've had it for a year, and unfortunately, it just started giving me trouble. The first carb, (on the side the bike leans) has a gummy oil/gas residue on it, and I sometimes get a strong odor of gas. My second pipe has been really cool this last week, and the engine has lost some power as a result. Sometime the bike will smoke blueish/white smoke from that pipe. The compression is 130, which is not great, but it's also not bad. I imagine these issues are related, but not sure how. I just had the carbs cleaned and synced. Any ideas? Thanks!

Attachment IMG_1876.jpg not found

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Oct 2015 06:46 #695471 by Nessism
Replied by Nessism on topic Oil/Gas Mixture on Side of Carb?
Do you have a Kawasaki factory service manual for your bike or at least a decent manual of some sort? How are you doing on all the regular scheduled maintenance such valve adjustments, points adjustment/replacement, spark plugs, etc? It's very difficult to diagnose running problems on a bike that doesn't have all the maintenance tasks up to date.

More
22 Oct 2015 07:27 #695479 by jackleberry
Replied by jackleberry on topic Oil/Gas Mixture on Side of Carb?
Does this bike have a crankcase breather hose that goes into the airbox?

You may have an overflowing float valve in one or more carbs that is letting gas get into the airbox and also the crankcase which is raising the oil fill level and causing some to get blasted out the breather and into the airbox, which is sucked up by the carb producing the oily mixture (that also happens to be leaking out--separate problem) that causes all the smoke.

It wouldn't hurt you to rebuild those carbs since you obviously have at least one leak at the float bowl.