Prime?

• Not a mechanic
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
27 Aug 2014 08:20 #645358 by Not a mechanic
Prime? was created by Not a mechanic
I'm guessing this has been covered before, but I couldn't find it. I have a 1982 KZ550 LTD with the Teikei 22 carbs. I bought the bike after it had been sitting for a year. As my handle states, I'm not a mechanic, so I took the carbs off and took them to a local shop to have them cleaned and rebuilt. Put the carbs back on (I am staying with the stock airbox). Turned the petcock to PRI, set the choke, hit the button, after a a couple of cranks it started, All good, right? I switched the petcock to ON, it idled fine, but would die as soon as I gave it any throttle. After a little bit of playing with the throttle, I could keep it running but not well. I pulled up a picture of the carbs, and it showed a vacuum hose running from the carb to the petcock, I went back and looked at the pictures I took before I removed the carbs, and the hose appeared to not be going anywhere. Anyhoo, I hooked the hose to the petcock, didn't solve my problem. If I leave the petcock on PRI the bike runs fine. Is there any reason I can't just run the bike on PRI? As a little background, my other bike is a1981 KZ305 CSR, which is a much simpler machine. Any thoughts?

1981 KZ305 CSR
1982 KZ550 LTD

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Aug 2014 10:15 #645370 by StreetfighterKz
Replied by StreetfighterKz on topic Re:Prime?
You can run it on Prime but be aware of two issues: 1) if the float valves don't seal properly you will have gas leaking out your carbs or possibly into the engine and 2) most petcock I see with Prime uses the reserve inlet to supply fuel. This means you will always be running on the reserve setting so you will have to pay close attention to your fuel level.

Later, Doug

1978 z1000 Streetfighter
1976 z900 Stripfighter (work in progress)
1983 Gpz750 Resto-Mod
1989 Vmax

More