Breaking up at 5000

• Christophera
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
07 Jul 2014 17:15 - 07 Jul 2014 17:16 #639195 by Christophera
Breaking up at 5000 was created by Christophera
Hello everyone,
I have a 81 Csr that I recently turned into a café racer (first bike project ive done), before the conversion the bike ran great no issues. I replaced the stock airbox with pod filters and also changed the exhaust to a freer flowing system, now i can barely get it passed 5k and it breaks up, it also has no go passed 1/4 throttle and just bogs. I assume it needs to be jetted, now I am very very new to motorcycles and I figure with more air going through the engine its running to lean but Im guessing, the stock jets are 102.5 I believe that's whats in the carbs now but I have not checked (just got it running today) any ideas if it could be anything else? or advice on what I should change the jets too?
thanks guys.
Last edit: 07 Jul 2014 17:16 by Christophera.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jul 2014 17:30 #639197 by Sieklist
Replied by Sieklist on topic Breaking up at 5000
Hi....I'm no bike mechanic...and am new to kawasaki. I have another bike a suzuki intruder I am on intruderalert.com for.

I too had many questions about these mods....if the bikes are anything the same which I would assume they are...the systems made up of like components....

I know if you changed to pod filters a rejet is in order...and if exhaust was changed to a more free flowing system...you may want to look into back pressure...the stock baffle comes designed for adequate back pressure through all power bands...modifications to the exhaust should call for a carb sync or if your new exhaust has no baffle you should want a baffle or lollipop installed and still will need to resync carbs....again these are just a few ideas...I saw that no one had responded good luck brother
The following user(s) said Thank You: Christophera

More
07 Jul 2014 20:19 #639221 by Topper