• Page:

TOPIC:

needle and jet 01 Nov 2005 12:40 #5947

• lmahaj
  • lmahaj's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
This is a very general question, and I have little experience working on carbs:
If pod air filters air used to replace the stock air filter and box, then should the jet or the needle or both be replace? Also, are the jets/needles adjustable? perhaps it's model dependent?

There are three 'jets' coming out of my float bowl and into the carb venturi tube. One of them is covered with a rubber stopper, why?

Thanks, and btw I am working on a 79 kz400.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

needle and jet 01 Nov 2005 12:59 #5949

• DasTeufel
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Usually the jet needles are adjustable, but some models are not adjustable (wiredgeorge and some others can verify this). Usually all that is needed is a main jet swap to correct the lean condition that is created when pods are installed. I encountered this when I installed pods on my 82 KZ550, switching to a larger mainjet cured it.
2009 KTM 690 SMC
2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250R
2001 Suzuki GSXR 750

Wildomar, CA

needle and jet 02 Nov 2005 07:38 #6082

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
In short, if you install pod filters and/or 4 into 1 pipes on a KZ400, you need to rejet, else the bike will run lean; especially with the pod filters.

You have three jets on your KZ400: primary main jet, secondary main jet and pilot jet. You don't need to adjust your jet needle/needle jet.