83 KZ440LTD Starving for fuel at top end

• Sandy
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Fly High,Tony
More
06 May 2014 17:21 #631574 by Sandy
I'm THINKING that it's a fuel-delivery problem...
Once it warms up,it idles great,but out on the road,it stumbles when I feed it fuel.It did this from the get go,when we first bought it.I pulled and rebuilt the carbs,both diaphragms were in great condition,no cracks,not dry-rotted,still very pliable. It's still stumbling at highway speeds.
Petcock was cleaned out,new fuel-line and filter.
I noticed,while it's sitting idling,the fuel-filter will NOT fill,and in fact,it slowly drains,and if I rev it up,I can clearly see more fuel entering the filter...but still will not fill it up.Is that normal for these carbs?
Is it possible that I have too long of a fuel-line,and the filter is mounted too high above the petcock?
I have no experience with these vacuum carbs,I've only ever worked on gravity fed carbs.
I can run it around at city speeds with no issues,but as soon as I get to highway speeds,and really push it,that's when it stumbles.
Anyone?
I'm desperate,as this bike was just sold,and I need to get it running better than it is.
Thanks!

1977 KZ1000 A-1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 May 2014 17:56 #631576 by jtpvg
Replied by jtpvg on topic 83 KZ440LTD Starving for fuel at top end
sounds to me like it maybe a clogged or partially clogged jet.. Do you have aftermarket pods or anything? As far as the gas line goes as long as it doesnt drop below the carbs I would think they would be ok. I'd check the petcock first. I did away with mine and ran a inline filter.

82 kz 1000 Cafe Racer
82 xj 750
photobucket.com/user/jtpvg/library/82 KZ 1000?sort=3&page=1
The following user(s) said Thank You: Sandy

• Sandy
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Fly High,Tony
More
06 May 2014 18:08 #631578 by Sandy
Replied by Sandy on topic 83 KZ440LTD Starving for fuel at top end