Oil and gas puddles

• danpcali
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I ride a 1980 kz650e
More
27 Apr 2014 10:14 #630580 by danpcali
Oil and gas puddles was created by danpcali
Noob here. I noticed oil and gas puddles under my bike after riding it and letting it sit for 3-4 days. I moved the bike and turned it from side to side and even bounced on top of it too see where the leaks were coming from. After I did that some small puddles formed. I looked under the bike and I did not see any dripping which lead me to believe the gas and oil came out of my tubes leading from my carbs. I did notice that the crank case filter being wet with gas and a very small puddle of gas forming around one of the nuts near it (circled in picture).

I live in Pittsburgh and its been about 65 degrees here. My bike idles at 2 rpms. So two thoughts came to mind:

1) Do I need a new crank case filter?
2) Am I running the bike at too high while it idles?

Is it possible that since I ride it too high that oil and gas are leaking out of it after I ride it and that is what I am noticing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachment IMG_8131.jpg not found

Attachment IMG_8131.jpg not found

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Apr 2014 14:51 #630605 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Oil and gas puddles
i would try this -

Pull that crankcase filter off and attach a fairly long piece of tubing to the breather. Run that tubing back to the rear fender then point it away from the tire. Clean the top of the engine squeaky clean. Then go for a decent ride, come back and let the bike sit. If liquid still appears on the top of the engine it must be dripping from the carbs or possibly leaking from the chain tensioner. Either should be easy to identify. If the top of the engine is still clean, the liquid was coming from the breather filter. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)