Reasons for strange jetting

More
26 Mar 2014 16:50 #626684 by DoubleA
Reasons for strange jetting was created by DoubleA
I am new to motorcycles, I have a lot of experience tuning webers on Porsche and VWs so I am used to tuning carbs with one barrel per cylinder. But I have been having a hard time getting my 79 KZ1000 ST tuned. It ran sweet cold but when warmed up it starts to run fat off idle with a bit of bog then it takes off fine. Honestly accept for the off idle flat spot when warm it pulls very nice. After lots and lots of reading I tested things like voltage and battery, new plugs ect. All good there. I put a new stater in and it seems to be working fine. I was also getting some fuel purge when sitting after a but the bike would piddile gas on the ground. So after much reading I decided I needed to check the float height/ needle valve function. Plus I wanted to get the carbs apart to see what the jetting was and that is when I ran into this.

Cyliders 1 and 4 135 main jet, 15 pilot
Cylinsers 2 and 3 130 main jet, 15 pilot

oddly all of the plugs appear to be equally rich, not surprised that they were rich just equal with the uneven jetting.

The bike has the VM28SS carbs with pods (I know, I know)
Kerker 4 into 1
B8ES plugs
not sure on valve adjustment yet.

Any suggestions on why the jets are missmatched and what do you suggest? Based on what I have read It seems I need 120 mains and 17 pilots? Is that right?

Thanks,

Double A

Attached is a picture of my nearly completed project

79 KZ1000 ST
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Mar 2014 16:58 #626686 by DoubleA
Replied by DoubleA on topic Reasons for strange jetting
sorry meant 17.5 pilots

79 KZ1000 ST

More
26 Mar 2014 20:32 #626710 by moneypit
Replied by moneypit on topic Reasons for strange jetting