Little help on troubleshooting poor fuel economy

More
23 Feb 2014 19:59 - 23 Feb 2014 20:00 #623115 by thoraxotool
Friends-

I'm trying to hunt down the source(s) of the poor fuel economy that I'm getting on my '82 KZ550.
I should be somewhere in the 50mpg range, but I'm actually getting in the upper 20s. This isn't a 1 time deal, I've been tracking this a while. I added a screenshot of the app I'm using to track consumption.

Attachment Screenshot_2014-02-23-19-50-12.png not found

What I've done is a complete carb clean, sync, new plugs, new vacuum hoses, adjusted the idle to spec and did a full gasket and O-Ring replacement on the fuel cap. After the work on the gas cap I jumped to 37mpg but that's still 15 under what it should be. I do have the rebuild kits, but I'd prefer that as the last resort.

What I'm looking for is suggestions of other things to check next. I'm new to motorcycles and carburetors in general, so my troubleshooting skills still somewhat are limited.

Thanks!

1982 KZ550 LTD
Attachments:
Last edit: 23 Feb 2014 20:00 by thoraxotool.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Feb 2014 20:54 #623124 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Little help on troubleshooting poor fuel economy

thoraxotool wrote: What I've done is a complete carb clean, sync, new plugs, new vacuum hoses, adjusted the idle to spec and did a full gasket and O-Ring replacement on the fuel cap. After the work on the gas cap I jumped to 37mpg but that's still 15 under what it should be.

That's about what my 750 twin gets in all city driving.

If your compression is good, timing and timing advancer is working right (no coil/plug problems) then it has to be the carbs.

Is the spark plug color too dark (rich)?

1979 KZ-750 Twin

More
23 Feb 2014 20:56 #623125 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic Little help on troubleshooting poor fuel economy