Broken hose identification

• danpcali
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I ride a 1980 kz650e
More
13 Oct 2013 03:00 #609825 by danpcali
Broken hose identification was created by danpcali
Hi guys, noob here again. About a week again I dumped by 1980 kz650e. It ran strong up until today when it kept staling out on me and sounded like the engine was kind of labored. Ended up pushing the bike home and when I did I noticed a hose towards the back of the bike near the rear wheel had snapped and was leaking a dark substance (I think my engine oil). Does anyone know what this hose is for and what the correct name of it is? I checked my manual and it's not identified. I want to go to my local cycle gear store to see if they have a replacement.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Oct 2013 09:11 #609834 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic Broken hose identification
If it is still connected, check to see where. It could be the airbox drain tube. If you have pod filters, it could be from the crankcase vent (breather cover). When you dumped the bike, I'm guessing oil could have gotten into the airbox. Be sure to check the engine oil level - motorcycle preferably on the center stand & level.
The following user(s) said Thank You: danpcali

• 4TheKZ1000
  • Visitor
13 Oct 2013 15:11 #609861 by 4TheKZ1000
Replied by 4TheKZ1000 on topic Broken hose identification
nice bike...sorry it hit the pavement.

Did you smell it to see if it had gas in it?

Do you have pods or factory air-box? If you have air-box...oil got into it while on side and drained out though tube when upright as it was designed to.

• danpcali
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I ride a 1980 kz650e
More
13 Oct 2013 16:13 #609868 by danpcali
Replied by danpcali on topic Broken hose identification
I have air pods.

A few corrections: the hose I was referring to did not snap and the "hose" I was referring to is one of the vacuum hoses that comes out of the carborator.