KZ750 High Speed Problem

More
02 Sep 2013 12:52 #604451 by Mutz
KZ750 High Speed Problem was created by Mutz
Hey Guys, I restored this 78 kz750 twin. Everything was taken apart and cleaned. I'm a mechanic by trade. I rebuilt the carbs,new floats,new petcock, I have stock air box,k&n stk filter.
I have 135 main jets in now and stk idle jets. The bike came with a alphabet header. The bike runs great!all day long at 60 mph or less. Once i get on the highway. and get up past 65 mph. she starts to bog down like she needs more fuel or bowls are empty. does the same with stk 125 jets.
I have the needle jet clip second from the bottom. no leaks, air or fuel.
I checked timing and its advancing. new points & condesor. B7ES plugs. Float bowls are full.
I'm going to check coil and wires next. As per shop manual. I think it is some how fuel related.
I pulled plugs after test, seem kinda lean. Idle mixture is out 1 1/2 turns. Did anyone have this problem? and how did you fix it?
Thanks for any help.
Lawrence
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Sep 2013 15:54 #604494 by bountyhunter
Replied by bountyhunter on topic KZ750 High Speed Problem
Does it have stock air box? Air filter OK?

Make sure the air vent in the gas cap isn't restricted.

Is there an inline fuel filter? May need replacing.

Make sure to clean the fuel system top down. Rinse the tank, clean the petcock assembly, install new inline filter. Make sure the fuel filters allow enough flow.

Not sure about an alphabet header. If it's a straight pipe, you are probably running way lean.

BTW: the twins use the B6ES plugs, not B7ES. Probably not the source of the problem, but just FYI.

1979 KZ-750 Twin

More
02 Sep 2013 21:30 #604542 by stardon
Replied by stardon on topic KZ750 High Speed Problem