1983 Kawasaki KZ750 - Horrific gas mileage?

More
16 Aug 2013 01:27 - 16 Aug 2013 01:31 #601638 by ErikWithNoC
1983 Kawasaki KZ750 - Horrific gas mileage? was created by ErikWithNoC
Hey all,

This is my first time posting here after poking around for a little bit. I'm 19 and I recently bought my very first motorcycle (1983 Kawasaki 750 Spectre). It was in great shape when I bought it, still running and it had all the original parts still on it. Unfortunately, the bike had been sitting for about 15 years and obviously developed some problems. I'm not super engine savvy, but my dad knows a fair bit so we've been trying to get everything running right.

Anyways, onto the problem: I'm getting about 55 miles to 3 gallons of gas....which is terrible. I have a 4 gallon tank and I need to set it to reserves at roughly 55 miles, so I'm assuming my reserves hold another gallon. That places me at around 70 or so miles per tank when I know I should be getting upwards of 120 at least. The carbs aren't leaking any gas and the bike is driveable (I've been riding it everyday), but one of the cylinders definitely isn't firing properly nor does it idle for any longer than a couple seconds. I've replaced the spark plugs and wires, took the carbs off once and scrubbed the varnish out of the jets (they were pretty clogged), but I never actually soaked them in a carb cleaner. I should also note that I cleaned the carbs out before I cleaned all the rust out of the gas tank (there was A LOT in there). I'd imagine some of that rust could have gotten into the carbs again, but I'm not entirely sure. In addition to those things I've changed the oil, checked the petcock and replaced my handlebars,