VM29? Weird Choke needle

More
07 Jul 2013 23:37 #595472 by ftp
VM29? Weird Choke needle was created by ftp
Howdy!

I recently bought a 78' KZ650 for a project bike. I'm super excited to be wrenching again after a few years living in small apartments with no where to store a project. I'm new to vintage bikes, so I apologize for not knowing the proper terminology.

So I think these are a set of VM29's that came off the bike. They have been sitting awhile, you can see all the crud in the float bowls.

In my efforts to clean this thing up, there is one part I can't seem to clean and effectively de-gunk. I'm pretty sure it's part of the choke circuit, but I'm not completely sure. I can't seem to remove it to clean, I think it's pressed into the carb body. I've attached a picture with an arrow pointing to it. How do ya'll clean\clear this circuit?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. Aerosol Carb Cleaners are worthless.

78' KZ650 D1 SR - 'Cafe' Project
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2013 00:03 #595481 by Cynjut
Replied by Cynjut on topic VM29? Weird Choke needle
I doubt they are 29s - probably 26s or 28s. The exploded diagram for your carb is one of the ones at Partzilla and if you can identify it on the parts list, someone may be able to tell you what that piece is.

1977 KZ-1000 A1
1982 KZ-1000 M2 Frankenbike

More
08 Jul 2013 00:37 #595492 by ftp
Replied by ftp on topic VM29? Weird Choke needle
I think they are smoothbores because of the body of the carbs are smooth, not ribbed. Also the bottom of the float bowls have a 17mm hex drain plug. There is no angled screw or nipple, and no accelerator pump assembly. I'll post a better picture of the carbs tomorrow, but here are some I have already.