Know a thing or two about slide carbs!?!?

More
07 Jun 2013 16:22 - 07 Jun 2013 16:45 #591228 by treitz
I am new to slide carbs, and I know they are a lot different than CV carbs. There is just ONE thing about this VM34 round slide carb that I don't understand.

If I am sitting still with the engine off, the throttle twists pretty easily (feels normal) and springs back quickly.

BUT, when I am driving, the throttle is pretty hard to twist. Like awkwardly hard to twist especially right off of idle. The cable isn't kinking or anything. I have check that. Plus if it was, it would be hard to pull all of the time, not just when running.

I am assuming this is because of the airflow through the carb pushing the slide into the slide wall.... or something like that. Just not sure if it's "normal" for slide carbs, or if I should be concerned.

1979 KZ400 - 2-1 Manifold - Mikuni VM34
Last edit: 07 Jun 2013 16:45 by treitz.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
07 Jun 2013 18:41 #591245 by peter1958

More
07 Jun 2013 19:26 #591256 by LarryC
Replied by LarryC on topic Know a thing or two about slide carbs!?!?

treitz wrote: I am new to slide carbs, and I know they are a lot different than CV carbs. There is just ONE thing about this VM34 round slide carb that I don't understand.

If I am sitting still with the engine off, the throttle twists pretty easily (feels normal) and springs back quickly.

BUT, when I am driving, the throttle is pretty hard to twist. Like awkwardly hard to twist especially right off of idle. The cable isn't kinking or anything. I have check that. Plus if it was, it would be hard to pull all of the time, not just when running.

I am assuming this is because of the airflow through the carb pushing the slide into the slide wall.... or something like that. Just not sure if it's "normal" for slide carbs, or if I should be concerned.

Put some carb gauges on them and see how much vacuum you're pulling.

Larry C.

More