1984 GPz 1100

More
13 May 2013 21:16 #587242 by Statorhed
1984 GPz 1100 was created by Statorhed
Hi Guys, I am new to the forum hope we can help each other out. Just picked up a 84 GPz 1100 Fi. It's be sitting for many years and it only has 2,300 miles. Fuel pump is shot. Also 3 fuel injectors are bad. I here that good FI parts are scarce and expensive so I will be converting over to 34 Mikuni carbs off a 83 Gpz 750.Will clean the carbs in a ultrasonic cleaner,but need to know what jetting to use. Stock airbox or pod filters? If I go with pods what about a Dyna jet kit .I work in a shop that rebuilds old Triumph twins and triples. Even though the GPz is 30 years old its still light years ahead of a old Triumph

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 May 2013 23:21 #587252 by riturbo
Replied by riturbo on topic 1984 GPz 1100
just get the fi cleaned out. You can get a fuel pump and clean the injectors. Nothing runs better than kawi fuel injection. Its not that hard to get it back in shape.It will be cheaper and run much better than the carbs.

Gpz 750 turbo The one I ride
Gpz 750 turbo Not finished
Gpz 750 turbo Not started
Gpz 550 1981
Gpz 550 1983
Bunch of other junk

More
18 May 2013 14:48 #588080 by GypZee
Replied by GypZee on topic 1984 GPz 1100
Have to agree that in principle I don't see where repairing the DFI will be much harder than tuning a set of stock 750 carbs to work on the 1100.

Fuel pump was used in automotive applications (mine has an 80's subaru turbo pump on it). I am a bit surprised that 3/4 of the injectors are "bad." Maybe need cleaned?

83 GPz1100
85 GPz550

More
18 May 2013 19:16 - 18 May 2013 19:18 #588094 by Hollywoodmx
Replied by Hollywoodmx on topic 1984 GPz 1100

riturbo wrote: just get the fi cleaned out. You can get a fuel pump and clean the injectors. Nothing runs better than kawi fuel injection. Its not that hard to get it back in shape.It will be cheaper and run much better than the carbs.