Helpless '82 KZ550 in the hands of a TOTAL NEWBIE

More
10 Apr 2013 03:27 #581551 by timotay
Let me start by saying... This is a great forum. I've already met some awesome and helpful folks that were not snarky towards a complete beginner. I appreciate it!

So with my new bike, the seller said he had his fuel/air mixture set very "rich" which to me means the concentration of fuel is higher than normal. Why he did this, I do not know. I believe it causes the engine to idle high and also lack in power... especially when it revs to higher RPMs. Does this sound familiar? I'll be having a friend help me adjust things back to normal and clean the carbs, but I'd like peoples' opinions on wtf this guy was thinking and if there are any pitfalls I should know about before undergoing the cleaning. And by the way, what do people mean by "rebuild" of the carbs? Does this imply they cleaned the carbs and also replaced gaskets, seals 'n such?

P.s. when I changed out the spark plugs I found evidence of a rich fuel/air mixture consistent with the symptoms in the clymer manual description: "dull, dry black with fluffy carbon deposits on the insulator tip, electrode and exposed shell."

- -[ 1982 KZ550C ]- -

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Apr 2013 09:11 - 10 Apr 2013 09:24 #581570 by fivestring
Replied by fivestring on topic Helpless '82 KZ550 in the hands of a TOTAL NEWBIE
timotay, welcome.

My understanding of the mix screws is that they only make a difference at idle and lower range rpm. Once revved up,other circuits inside the carbs take over and monitor the mix of air and fuel.

I would first try turning in all four mix screws till they GENTLY bottom out, then turn them each out 1.5 turns. See if that solves your rich problem. But bad performance at higher rpms will probably not be affected by this.