Carb bowl drain tubes

More
08 Dec 2012 03:08 #561997 by X_Saint
Carb bowl drain tubes was created by X_Saint
On my 82 kz750 h3 on the bottom of my carburetors the float bowls don't have any drain tubes hooked up to them, I've been reading around and it seems like I need some down there. I'm new to bikes so if anyone could let me know if I need me, where to get me from and how to hook them up I would appreciate it greatly, thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Dec 2012 03:44 #562001 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Carb bowl drain tubes
May attach a hose to each overflow nipple protruding from bottoms of carbs' float bowls.

Gather the four hoses together and route them past the swing arm to discharge any escaping fuel underneath the bike.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: X_Saint

More
08 Dec 2012 13:33 #562036 by X_Saint
Replied by X_Saint on topic Carb bowl drain tubes
So the overflow drains are the ones at the very bottom of the carbs with the screws in them to drain them when needed correct? So I attach 4 hoses, 1 to each carb and just have them directed so they drip on the ground instead of the engine? And its normal for them bowls to gradually drip or what does that usually indicate. Cause the 2 left carb bowls drip here and there. Thanks

More
08 Dec 2012 14:20 - 08 Dec 2012 18:18 #562046 by Patton

X_Saint wrote: So the overflow drains are the ones at the very bottom of the carbs with the screws in them to drain them when needed correct? So I attach 4 hoses, 1 to each carb and just have them directed so they drip on the ground instead of the engine? And its normal for them bowls to gradually drip or what does that usually indicate. Cause the 2 left carb bowls drip here and there. Thanks

As known, the drain screw (side of carb) is different from the overflow nipple (out bottom of float bowl).

Some carbs have an "overflow" circuit.