• cas.vanderwoude
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
13 Nov 2012 14:47 #558208 by cas.vanderwoude
over-run and high revs at idle? was created by cas.vanderwoude
dl.dropbox.com/u/17898942/IMG_3663a.jpg

[attachment:1]IMG_3663a.jpg[/attachment]

been trying to get my carb/pipe combination tuned in...
1979 KZ1000
V&H pipes (baffled)
pods

messing with the fuel screw seems to give me ok performance at low revs, 120 main jet seems to work ok for WOT and no problems breaking the ton.

However, I'm getting a fair bit of over-run and when I pull up to a stop loight or whatever, engine is revving at around 3000. The diaphragms all seem good on the carbs, but I noticed the PO had the needles all the way up. would dropping the needles fix this or is there something else I should be looking at?

I'm a bit of a novice with Kawasakis and with 4 carb bikes in general...

Any advice or pointers gladly appreciated.

Motorcycles are like underpants - you should have one for each day of the week

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Nov 2012 15:27 - 13 Nov 2012 15:39 #558210 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic over-run and high revs at idle?

cas.vanderwoude wrote: dl.dropbox.com/u/17898942/IMG_3663a.jpg

[attachment:1]IMG_3663a.jpg[/attachment]

been trying to get my carb/pipe combination tuned in...
1979 KZ1000
V&H pipes (baffled)
pods

messing with the fuel screw seems to give me ok performance at low revs, 120 main jet seems to work ok for WOT and no problems breaking the ton.

However, I'm getting a fair bit of over-run and when I pull up to a stop loight or whatever, engine is revving at around 3000. The diaphragms all seem good on the carbs, but I noticed the PO had the needles all the way up. would dropping the needles fix this or is there something else I should be looking at?

I'm a bit of a novice with Kawasakis and with 4 carb bikes in general...

Any advice or pointers gladly appreciated.