Jetting advice. 83 LTD.

• Hatchet
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • It's better in the wind.
More
01 Oct 2012 19:14 #551864 by Hatchet
Jetting advice. 83 LTD. was created by Hatchet
Tried a search for this but didn't get too far.

First off, I'm an inexperienced mechanic. Feel free to correct me if I am wrong, I'm despeately trying to learn this stuff.

I have an '83 KZ750 LTD K1. Currently it's running pods and a straight-cut exhaust with the crossover tube still intact. The jets and needles are still stock.

Naturally the bike runs badly. It won't start at all without full choke and if it's been sitting a while it usually needs starter fluid additionally. It runs and idles well enough with choke on, but will usually die without it.

I want to re-jet the carbs. I'm a new mechanic, but from my diagnosis the bike is starving for fuel in conjunction with the open air system. Which means I'm running lean. So in that case, I'll need to find...bigger jets.

I haven't dissassembled the carbs yet so I can't confirm the sizes but I'm assuming it is running 45 pilots and 125 mains which should be stock for that bike. I'll confirm that.

So what should I look at for an increase? In a similar thread featuring an older bike a member had recommended moving up to 50s and 135s. Please give me your advice.

Oh, and also, eventually I want to attach a new set of pretty non-restrictive, non-baffled mufflers. How will this factor in?

Bikers are a rare breed.
Harley riders are a dime a dozen.

'83 KZ750 LTD K1. "Don't make me get the belt..."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
01 Oct 2012 21:49 #551880 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic Jetting advice. 83 LTD.