Run away RPM's

• bearanddragon
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
24 Aug 2012 14:52 #544525 by bearanddragon
Run away RPM's was created by bearanddragon
Ok, this is killing me. I don't consider myself an expert but I have worked on quite a few bikes in my time (mostly Hondas) but this is my first time working on a KZ1000 and I'm wracking my brain trying to figure this one out. I would like to get this bike back to the customer and get paid. Sorry my first post is asking for help but I didn't know where else to go.

1978 LTD1000
Mint condition w/ only 11k miles on it. When I let off the throttle when riding to coast to a stop the bike acts like it's got cruise control and will continue to accelerate. If I pull in the clutch when this happens the RPM's will climb to approx. 3k and stay there for an extended amount of time before the bike finally idles down to just under 1k where it should be.

Things I've done so far:
Lubed cables, lubed twist throttle, checked throttle cable tension, rebuilt the carbs completely, synchronized the carbs, pulled intake boots off and checked for cracks (still very pliable and appears to be sealing on head surface.

I even removed the throttle cables from the carbs and operated them by twisting the bell crank by hand. When I idle it up to around 2 - 3 thousand rpm it and release slowly the rpms will stay and I can watch the bell crank slowly come to stop on the idle adjustment screw. If I release the bell crank quickly the slides will snap shut and it idles down like it's supposed to. I checked the return spring tension at full "closed" position and there is still plenty of tension.

When riding the bike I have to physically twist the throttle forward with some force to get the bike to idle down. I don't know what else to try. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
24 Aug 2012 15:18 #544526 by ramtough_63
Replied by ramtough_63 on topic Run away RPM's