Carburetor set-up...Does this look right?

More
25 Nov 2011 22:37 #490143 by mike_eubank
Carburetor set-up...Does this look right? was created by mike_eubank
I had a closer look at my bikes carbs and this is the set-up i found. Does this look right?

The vaccuum inlets are set up as such:
Carbs 1 and 4 are tied to each otherin a wish-bone set-up and run under the fuel tank. (Not sure to what)
Carb 2 is tied to the petcock to operate the diaphram in the fuel valve.

Carb 3 was open, which was of my slow idle and strange poppin,. I jury-rigged a cap using a piece of fuel line and slightly bigger cap.

My bike is stalling after a few minutes at highway speed. Capping the no 3 inlet helped, but it didnt solve the problem.

Im not an expert mechanic by any means; much less on motorcycles, but I can only think of two solutions:

1: The fuel diapraghm in the petcock needs BOTH carbs 2 and 3 to operate fully
2: The in-line filter in the main fuel line is visbily kinked (not by me) and is restricting fuel flow.

If at first you dont succeed, skydiving is NOT for you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Nov 2011 22:49 #490144 by cfaherty
Replied by cfaherty on topic Carburetor set-up...Does this look right?
That's the hookups which my manual shows.

You can rule out the petcock diaphragm by running in PRIME position and seeing if the problem goes away. PRIME is always flowing, whereas ON requires the vacuum.

1983 KZ750 F1 LTD Shaft

• Motor Head
  • User
  • FIX UP YOUR BIKE RIGHT AND CHEAP
More
25 Nov 2011 22:53 #490146 by Motor Head
Replied by Motor Head on topic Carburetor set-up...Does this look right?