1981 KZ 650H1 CSR Pods or box air filter?

More
08 Jul 2011 21:59 #461767 by matt650csr
1981 KZ 650H1 CSR Pods or box air filter? was created by matt650csr
Hello all,
I'm new to the site and really new to working on bikes. I got ahold of a kawasaki z650h1 csr to learn to ride on and work on and I am basically taking it all apart and cleaning everything and am looking for opinions on the air filters. Just looking at the box, placement under seat, etc... it seems like pods would be the way to go because they'd be much less restricted. But like I said, I am totally new to motorcycles so any opinions, advice, etc... would be awesome. I am also curious as to the idea of jetting the carbs. What for and how to kind of stuff! Thanks!
Sincerely,
The n00b.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2011 22:13 #461770 by kzzoid
Replied by kzzoid on topic 1981 KZ 650H1 CSR Pods or box air filter?
hey matt650, does the bike have the stock exhaust still intact, if so you may want to leave the stock airbox assembly as it is. if you are putting a four into one system on , then i would look into the pod filters and changing the jetting. carburation and exhaust go hand in hand.

kz1000,zx11,kx500

• Proxy
  • User
  • 80% Human 20% Nuts/Bolts
More
08 Jul 2011 22:27 #461772 by Proxy
Replied by Proxy on topic 1981 KZ 650H1 CSR Pods or box air filter?
Matt that subject has been beaten to death around here. There is a ton of threads if you do a search of pods vs airbox. Seems every week something comes up about it. I would only strongly urge you to research it before you decide to 86 that airbox. Other than that welcome here! Good idea of taking it apart and cleaning. Pay attention to the wiring connections, get a manual and have fun. There is a library of info here if you do searches and a lot of knowledgeable friendly people. Pictures seems to pacify the beasts. (hint) ;)

Take it from me cuz I found
If you leave it then somebody else is bound,