cant keep my bike running

• freshdonjuan
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
10 Oct 2010 16:26 #405765 by freshdonjuan
cant keep my bike running was created by freshdonjuan
Hey guys, i think i have a carb issue. i am new to bikes, i actually just bought my first bike!! i recently bought a 1977 kz1000 LTD. when i got it, the bike was in pretty good running condition. i have recently run into a problem. the bike starts fine and then quites on me. i cant keep it running. i have to keep it reved up pretty high and as soon as i let off the throttle it dies. i think this is a carb issue. has anyone had this issue or have a good idea from the description? like i said i am new to bikes and am not much of a mechanic. is this something that i might be able to tune on my own or should i just take it in to a shop?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hocbj23
  • Visitor
10 Oct 2010 18:40 #405799 by hocbj23
Replied by hocbj23 on topic cant keep my bike running
bike is on the carb pilot circuit until 3/4 throttle.sounds like u need to clean carbs real well.do u have a good fuel filter inline?is tank ok and free from rust?did u tune bike up when u got it (new plugs,etc)?bj

• 550A2
  • User
  • keep the shiny side up
More
10 Oct 2010 20:00 #405859 by 550A2
Replied by 550A2 on topic cant keep my bike running

bike is on the carb pilot circuit until 3/4 throttle.sounds like u need to clean carbs real well.do u have a good fuel filter inline?is tank ok and free from rust?did u tune bike up when u got it (new plugs,etc)?bj

He is right, it COULD definetly be that...But before we get too technical i would like to mention the Idle screw. Is the idle up high enough??? the screw should be between the middle carbs on the top. tightning it will raise the idle. loosening it lowers it...Try that then get back to us.

82 Honda ATC 200-sold
82 Yamaha Virago 920-sold
82 Yamaha YZ250j-kept
80 Suzuki GS 550-sold
82 Kawasaki KZ550 A2-ride all the time