Is it a carb issue? I think so, but man I dunno!

More
12 Sep 2010 12:37 #398062 by Sir ODR
Hey fellow KZ riders, I'm brand new to the land of KZ's and motorcycles in general. Just picked up an 82 KZ440d belt drive from some guy on craigslist a few weeks ago. Went ahead and got my motorcycle license, and have been enjoying the hell out of riding it around. HOWEVER, things aren't great. It's never been a great rider, has always started very harshly. I need to put it on full choke to get it started, and it needs to warm up for a good full 3 minutes before taking the choke off. When starting it always kicks out a bunch of whitish smoke too, which seems to go away after running for about 5 minutes.

So when it's still relatively cold it idles ok at about 1,000rpm's, but pops a lot. After warming up riding it for 15-20 minutes, the idle shoots all the way up to approx. 4000rpm's! I've been told this could be a leaking carb issue, or an airflow issue. I found that I have the correct airbox and filter, and as far as I can tell there is no leak from the box to the intake boots, but not so sure about the carb boots. I've sprayed cleaner all over but can't seem to find a leak. And perhaps the weirdest thing of all? Everytime I switch the bike off after riding for awhile, it backfires about 2 seconds after turning it off!

Then to make matters more complicated, yesterday when I was riding it it started running really badly, and just up and died. It wouldn't start, so I waited ten minutes, put the choke fully on and basically had to rev it all the way back home so it wouldn't die!

As you can probably tell I don't really know my mechanics too much, but am excited to learn. Anybody familiar with these symptoms? I have one idea too, sometimes a little gas leaks from the bottom of the float bowl, could this have gotten into the oil? I don't have any sort of overflow tubing running from the nipples, is there supposed to be?

Alright KZgeniuses, thanks for any insight you may have.