1980 kz440 ltd Carbs

More
11 Jun 2010 11:32 #375102 by Jsoden
1980 kz440 ltd Carbs was created by Jsoden
Hi, first time poster here. I've got an '80 model 440 ltd (as the title says) that's been having carb problems since I got it. We've taken the carbs off several times and tried adjusting them and cannot get it to run right. The bike will run fine for a while but if you get out on a longer run the RPMs want to surge up at lower speeds. There's also a fine black soot showing up in the tail-pipes which makes it seem like it's getting too much gas. I'm not a huge mechanic but my dad, who's been helping me work on it, says that someone may have rejetted the carbs before (whether accidentally or on purpose) and that could be why it's getting too much fuel. If this is the case we would need a new set of carbs correct?

If anyone could point me in the right direction to shop for new carbs, or give some other ideas of how to fix this problem, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Jun 2010 11:57 #375108 by TexasKZ
Replied by TexasKZ on topic 1980 kz440 ltd Carbs
Welcome to the craziness!

I doubt that you need new carbs. I'd be willing to bet that it's an adjustment problem like floats set too high. The clear tube method is the best way to set them. If the carbs have been re-jetted, that's easy to undo - just put the correct ones back in.
Have you cleaned the carbs REALLY well? There are a bunch of really tiny passages that have to be perfectly clean to function. No amount of adjusting will offset clogged carbs. Did you carefully insped the very delicate diaphragms in each of the carbs? If there is a tear or even a tiny pinhole, the carb will not function properly.