Help with general carb stuff for '80 kz750 ltd-4

• greasechick557
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • 1980 KZ750 LTD-4
More
23 Apr 2010 17:15 - 23 Apr 2010 17:16 #362704 by greasechick557
Help with general carb stuff for '80 kz750 ltd-4 was created by greasechick557
Ok so I am just getting into this and already having issues. I am out of my element when it comes to carbs. I have lots of questions so bare with me.

So finally after lots of grunting and sweat I got the carbs off the bike. They are currently in my kitchen. LOL. The carb kits have been ordered and will be in Wednesday.

So when I bough this bike from the guy he told me that the exhaust baffles had been removed and the carbs may need to be re-jetted. The bike did run before I pulled it apart but it had trouble with idle and would stall out unless I opened up the throttle. The previous owner told me that the carbs did need to be cleaned and the bike has been sitting for 2 years. If I do need to replace the jets (if i screw them up while cleaning them), do I need a different size since the baffles have been removed?

Ok, so the guy told me that he removed one of the fuel hoses and now the bike would only run with the petcock on "PRI." Nothing is connected to the "ON" side of the petcock. there is a hose that looks it goes into the second carb into a vacuum hole. Is this hose suppose to go to the "ON" side of the petcock. If not, where is the hose that goes to that "ON" spot?

Alright. I got the float bowls off and cleaned them up. I tried to remove the pilot jet on the first carb I was working on and it may have stripped out. Not the threads it screws into but the top where the flat head goes. I know that the jets are soft and can deform easily but this thing would not budge. Any idea on how to get this jet out since it is stuck?