How to repair/replace a fuel gauge stuck on Full?

More
29 Nov 2009 16:36 #336592 by onanysunday
I have a '79 KZ1000ST. I was riding the other day on my way to the gas station, when all of a sudden my fuel gauge went from 'empty' to 'full' w/o adding any gas. I knew the bike was close to empty so I filled it half way and still the fuel gauge reads Full. I disconnected the fuel gauge electrical connector and of course it drops to empty with ignition on. When I plug the connector back in, fuel gauge slowly returns to a full reading. Does anyone know what went wrong here, what to look for or what part I need to replace this so I can get a working fuel gauge again? My first guess is a fuel level float somewhere inside the tank that got stuck and needs replacement. But then again, I'm no expert and this is where I ask for your help/expertise. How hard is it to fix this unresponsive fuel gauge problem and what should I do? Any thoughts, suggestions, or help finding the right replacement? Thanks.

79 KZ1000 E-1
VM28SS
K&N Pods

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Nov 2009 19:48 #336638 by gane
On, Fuel guages are goofy. the sender (inside tank) is just a big open wired rheostat. the float/arm rises/falls making contact (hopefully) on exposed high resistanc wires on a vertical post. somewhere later (depending on make/model)this resistance is "damped" providing a "smoothed " voltage to meter. since unplugging meter allows empy reading, would suspect sender or wiring to meter. I'd start by unpluging sender at tank & go from there.Luck G

[img][/img] 1977 KZ1000A1

More
30 Nov 2009 11:42 #336712 by onanysunday
Replied by onanysunday on topic How to repair/replace a fuel gauge stuck on Full?
thanks g, I'll check wiring to the meter. What does a sender look like? Sounds like it plugs in directly at the tank? I wonder if KZ Enterprises sells stuff like this? I will take a closer look..

79 KZ1000 E-1
VM28SS
K&N Pods

• Skyman
  • User