Individual air cleaners?

More
25 Oct 2009 14:17 #329551 by polkat
Individual air cleaners? was created by polkat
Bare with me here, I'm a good auto mechanic but new with motorcycles. I've seen a number of custom Kawa fours where the air box has been removed and small air cleaners attached to each carb. What brands are these cleaners? I really like that look, but what is done with the vacuum line that went to the airbox? And is this mod legal in...say, California? Thanks?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Oct 2009 15:05 - 25 Oct 2009 15:06 #329560 by keith1
Replied by keith1 on topic Individual air cleaners?
dont bother with anything but k and n's......pricey, but worth it....as far as legal in california...CARB probably knows when you slip out a silent but deadly one....i m gonna guess no.....then again, my k and n cold air intake on my car came with a CARB exemption sticker of some sort i stuck underneath hood......
Last edit: 25 Oct 2009 15:06 by keith1.

More
25 Oct 2009 15:12 #329564 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Individual air cleaners?
You may like the look, but be sure to keep the stock airbox handy. Many folks switched back after expeiencing a variety of pod related performance issues. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
25 Oct 2009 18:01 #329609 by JR
Replied by JR on topic Individual air cleaners?
K&Ns are the best. You will need to rejet the carbs if you use them. Sorry I cant help regarding your question about the line to the airbox as we did'nt have that emissions stuff up here in Canada.

1980 kz750E1, Delkevic exhaust

More
25 Oct 2009 18:49 #329625 by loudhvx
Replied by loudhvx on topic Individual air cleaners?
Personally, I prefer the Emgo pods over the K&N's. The K&N's cost a lot more and are a pain to clean and oil. The Emgos use paper and are used dry. They are disposable, but are far cheaper. They look very similar to the K&N's.