Starts with difficulty and wont stay running

More
12 Sep 2009 11:39 #321056 by chadeastin
I am brand new to bikes, but not general mechanicing. There is a lot different about bikes though. I have a kz750ne spectre with keihin carbs. Well it will start with the choke on, but with a lot of cranking. It back fires and pops and generally feels like it is out of time. It revs up like nothing else when you put that choke on, but after a while it works its way down in RPM and dies. I have to pump the throttle to even keep it going for just a bit. 1,2,and4 plugs are black and 3 plug is white. When I got the bike it had been sitting for a long time so I got new plugs and briefly cleaned the carbs. It ran, but had some trouble sticking at high rpm's as well as rough spots at certain rpm's. I decided to take the carbs back off and clean them more thoroughly. While I had them off I decided to go ahead and put pods on. After cleaning the carbs extremely, to include taking out all jets and needles, I put it all back together and now it runs like crap. really it doesnt run. should i go back to stock breather? It seems as though it is getting too much fuel, but would that be enough to keep it from running? Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Sep 2009 12:24 #321070 by timebomb33
Replied by timebomb33 on topic Starts with difficulty and wont stay running