Carburettors overflowing like crazy, what to do?!?

More
07 Sep 2009 20:16 #319791 by FrankySwarm
I guess i should start this off by introducing myself, this is my first time on any sort of motorcycle forum, mostly because this is my first bike:). Not really having much prior knowledge to motorcycle repair and maintenance, instead of buying a brand new bike i went out and got myself a NOT RUNNING 1977 Kz400 for $350 dollars. The way I looked at it was I don't really deserve to ride the thing if I don't know how it works. I am a sculptor and woodworker at my college so I am not illiterate when it comes to tools and mechanics but this has been a pretty big learning experience so far. I have many people close to me helping me along the way on getting this thing running but I am hoping to do most of it myself. After checking the compression which seemed good and also replacing the battery I am now getting spark as well. When i bought the bike the previous owner told me I would definitely need to clean the carbs and after trying to run it off a water bottle and getting nothing, i concluded it has to be the carbs. I took them off and cleaned em carefully after watching many tutorials and reassembled them. But after hooking them back up i hit a wall. As soon as I put gas in the carbs started overflowing out of all four hoses as well as what seemed to be the float bowl. They looked good when I put them back together and the only issue I could think of was maybe the jets are stuck or the gaskets on the float bowl are not in right, as I had alot of trouble getting them back in. My neighbor knows a dude that could re-jet them and fix em for about $100 dollars but I would love to try and tackle them myself first. If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be great. Also thanks for taking the time out to read this:)

..here are a few pictures I took just pointing out where Im getting leaks, thanks again guys!