Carb Pipes

• gravityoutlaw
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
22 Aug 2009 05:16 #315666 by gravityoutlaw
Carb Pipes was created by gravityoutlaw
Hi,
I'm new to the Z scene, use to be a Yamaha man. I've just re-built a Z500 1981 (European Model) and I'm very pleased with the bike, but I'm not sure what the 2 pipes that link the carbs do. The carbs are TK sliders and the pipe links carbs 1&2 together and 3&4 so there are x2 pipes that look like vents. I've read through the clymer & Haynes manual and they only refer to theses for the venting system which Isn't on my bike. Do I leave them open and feed them to the top of the air box or do I plug them up? The bike runs uneven at present but I've only started to tune it in, so could have some more questions.

If anyone can advise me that would be great.

Cheers
Colin (converted to Kawasaki's)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Aug 2009 06:19 - 22 Aug 2009 06:28 #315673 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic Carb Pipes
gravityoutlaw wrote:

Hi,
I'm new to the Z scene, use to be a Yamaha man. I've just re-built a Z500 1981 (European Model) and I'm very pleased with the bike, but I'm not sure what the 2 pipes that link the carbs do. The carbs are TK sliders and the pipe links carbs 1&2 together and 3&4 so there are x2 pipes that look like vents. I've read through the clymer & Haynes manual and they only refer to theses for the venting system which Isn't on my bike. Do I leave them open and feed them to the top of the air box or do I plug them up? The bike runs uneven at present but I've only started to tune it in, so could have some more questions.

If anyone can advise me that would be great.

Cheers
Colin (converted to Kawasaki's)

Hello, Colin, and WELCOME to KZR! :)
We'reglad you're here! :cheer:

Maybe the photo in link or next post will help, if the carbs are similar (manual throttle slide), and not CV (constant vacuum) style.