Fuel Line and Petcock Help- Please!

• Forrest
  • Topic Author
  • Sustaining Member
  • The Mad Duck
More
03 Aug 2009 15:46 - 03 Aug 2009 16:05 #311271 by Forrest
Fuel Line and Petcock Help- Please! was created by Forrest
I have been restoring a KZ650B1 for the past several months. I am to the point of putting fuel in the tank and running it. I have replaced the original 32 year old black fuel line with a similiar I.D blue tint Parts Unlimited stamped clear tube from my Kawi dealer. It was recommended to run an inline fuel filter. I seem to be getting leaking around the tube clamps at the fuel filter. I bought the filter and tubing from the dealer. The hose clamps are from Ace Hardware and seem fine on the carb inlet and petcock ends. It is just at the fuel filter that I get some leaking when I turn the petcock to the on postion. Also, I must admit to getting a little weeping around the petcock itself. I purchased a new oval O-ring and screws to mount the petcock to the tank. There is no leaking there. It appears to be around the petcock bowl. I am not sure if I was given an O-Ring or nylon washer to go in the bowl. The previos owner stuck some PTFE tape in the threads. I am sure that will not solve the petcock bowl weeping. It there a gasket or O-Ring that goes in there? Please help this poor imbecile. I promise not to ask for help until I get ot the rear drum brake. :lol:

-Update: I just talked to the Kawi Dealer. According to their records, I have not ordered an O-Ring/washer for the Petcock Bowl. I ordered this just now. Also, there is a screen that goes in the bowl. I will get one of those as well. Hopefully this will take care of the weeping at the Petcock itself. I may take off the inline filter entirely. Or, I may try removing the clamps at the inline filter to see if the hose clamps are crimping/puckering the fuel line. If anyone has further thoughts, please respond. Thanks.

KZ RIDER RELAY FLAG CARRIER #55
1977 KZ650B Ready & Fit to Roll Anywhere!