cant get it to idle[79 kz650 b3]

• irish mike
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • 79 kz 650 b3 rat rod
More
01 Aug 2009 09:34 #310732 by irish mike
cant get it to idle[79 kz650 b3] was created by irish mike
hi everybody its me again-first i would like to thank everybody for their help with my flooding carbs last week[ 2 stuck float needles]now i have the leek fixed its time to do the syncing- the problem is-when iget the bike started and warmed up it dies and when itry to start it again it might run for a minute or two and it dies again especially when i open the throttle.all hoses are hooked up technicaly i think every thing is in order-but im no expert-mix screws on the carbs set to 1.5 turns out -tried fiddling with throttle and choke but no real improvement.seems like when the bike is cold the engine will idle longer than when its warmed .i hope i dont have to take the f***ing carbs off again but ill just have to do what it takes...thanks all....mike

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Aug 2009 10:23 #310738 by Old Man Rock
Replied by Old Man Rock on topic cant get it to idle[79 kz650 b3]
"i hope i dont have to take the f***ing carbs off again "...
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: Laughing with you not at you... Welcome to the wonderful world of carb tuning and yes, you most liekly will need to pull the carbs several more times to get dialed in.... Just the way it is, we've all been there ;)

Can't remember you carb of jetting so let's start there shall...jetting/screw adjustments need tweaking.

NOTE: This is based on assuming your carbs, intakes, vacuum leaks etc... are not the problem, only

Set all 4 pilots to manual specifications ~ 1 - 1.5 turns out....

Now I don't remember if you purchased a Gunson Color tune but this is where it comes in real handy... See, not all carbs are the same setting, even with brand new carbs...