Carb Tuning Help - Have Symptoms need a Cure

More
21 Jul 2009 12:46 #308445 by DoubleL3
So I have a 81 KZ550 the exhaust is pretty much a straight thru 4-2 w/o a crossover, and i now have pods because the old filter was shit.

Now to the symptoms:
- i get some pretty decent backfire while closed throttle decelerating above about 5500 rpms
- if you rapidly open the throttle to full when the motor is under 3000 rpms it will kill the motor
- power seems decent below 1/2 throttle but it really pulls at full throttle

What this leads me to think is that I might be near stoich above 3/4 throttle and running lean near idle and below 3/4 throttle.

So am I correct in my guess? Im new to carb tuning so im just looking for some things to try so that I can get some experience and hopefully get to run really nice and powerful

thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jul 2009 13:18 #308448 by Patton
DoubleL3 wrote:

So I have a 81 KZ550 the exhaust is pretty much a straight thru 4-2 w/o a crossover, and i now have pods because the old filter was shit.

Now to the symptoms:
- i get some pretty decent backfire while closed throttle decelerating above about 5500 rpms
- if you rapidly open the throttle to full when the motor is under 3000 rpms it will kill the motor

What this leads me to think is that I might be near stoich above 3/4 throttle and running lean near idle and below 3/4 throttle.

So am I correct in my guess? Im new to carb tuning so im just looking for some things to try so that I can get some experience and hopefully get to run really nice and powerful

thanks

To reduce de-acceleration popping, could try enriching pilot circuit by turning adjuster screws 1/8th turn (being clockwise for side-located pilot air screws, or counter-clockwise for bottom-located pilot mixture screws), and lowering idle rpm with thumb screw. If problem persists, may require larger pilot jets.