Carb issue?? please help...

More
14 Jul 2009 09:52 #306961 by Shadow_Hare
Carb issue?? please help... was created by Shadow_Hare
Ok, noob here, but... about a week ago my wife dumped my bike over on the left side in the garage. it was down for a couple minutes before i got it back up. since then it has been idling really high, about 4k. when i put it in gear and ride, it drops back down accordingly, but as soon as i engage the clutch it goes back up. it sounds like it is drowning and the spark plugs have a lot of carbon deposits on them. from doing some research online, i'm assuming that my float levels are now messed up? i'm just wondering if this sounds like a plausible diagnosis? this is my first bike, but i am also eager and ignorant, and so far this has got me along pretty well ;) oh yeah, today when i got home i noticed this!

thanks a lot

'87 KZ305B LTD
StL

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jul 2009 10:04 #306965 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Carb issue?? please help...
The float levels may be ok, but if that's fuel I see coming from an overflow tube you have a float valve sticking open. Trace that tube to the carbs to see which one is leaking. You then need to drop the fuel bowl on that carb and see what's hanging up the little stubby needle in the float valve. This shouldn't be too difficult to diagnose, but be sure to turn off the petcock and drain the carb in question before dropping the fuel bowl. And no smoking! Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
14 Jul 2009 10:23 #306970 by Shadow_Hare
Replied by Shadow_Hare on topic Carb issue?? please help...