81 kz750 e1

• r6fireman1996
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
10 May 2009 10:59 #289877 by r6fireman1996
81 kz750 e1 was created by r6fireman1996
Hello, NOOB here, just picked up an 81 kz750/4 as a trade for some labor. It has 44k miles, stock as I can tell and has the vedder fairing (which I may remove).

I have been researching/lurking this site for a bit to figure out whats going on with it. Now thought its time to register. So heres my innagural post. I've been a sportsbike guy (fzr600,r6,r1) but this is my first streetbike. I had originally planned to sell this bike, but after a bit of riding, and research on the site/pics, it might be fun to restore this bike. First, the symptoms:

It is cold blooded, ie full choke, crank it for a bit, maybe a little throttle, it will start and run if you keep the throttle slightly cracked for about 30 secs. Then it will idle on full choke, but seems to do better if you drop it down to half choke. I can ride it fine on half choke, although it loses power approaching 5k rpm. If I try to lower it to no choke, it will idle itself down until it stalls, but only when stopped or coming up to a stop. I haven't noticed any difference riding, but haven't been out on the road much with it, just in town so I kept it half choked so it didn't stall coming up to a stoplight.

Heres my plan of action: I drained the gas from the tank, drained the bowls of the carbs, bike runs now as described above. before it wouldn't start. Tank looks rough inside (this may be another post, but I may have to clean/paint/replace tank in future).